HB 77 REDUX: Stop Gun Control in New Mexico

It has been circulating around the blogosphere in New Mexico and we’re hearing about it on Facebook;  the Leftists in Santa Fe who wish to trample our Second Amendment rights are at it again.  Now they are attempting to drum up support by giving gun control legislation air in the Courts, Corrections & Justice Interim Committee.  The time to stop the Lefts plan is NOW.

If at all possible please attend the committee meeting this week.  If you can’t make it, please contact the Senators and Representatives below.  And pass this message on to your friends!

As you’ll recall, HB 77 was the gun control measure sponsored by State Rep. Miguel Garcia (D-ABQ) during the 2013 Legislature which died on the last day of session. It began as a bill that would have criminalized ALL private firearms transfers – even between family and friends. After significant amendments, it ultimately targeted those sales at gun shows and similar events.

The committee will also take public comment at the hearing, which is usually limited to just a few minutes per person. And although they cannot advance any legislation at this time, they can vote to “endorse” the proposal for the 2014 session. That’s why it’s critical that opponents of this measure turn out, pack the hearing room and voice their opposition to HB 77!  Hearing details are below:

Courts, Corrections & Justice Interim Committee Meeting
Friday, November 22
State Capitol – Room 322
2:30pm (public comment slated to begin at 3:30pm)

If you cannot attend the hearing, please take the time to share your concerns via email with the members of the interim committee. A list of committee members can be found here (see attachment.)

Why should you be concerned about HB 77?

Because this is just the first step towards criminalizing ALL private transfers of firearms; in fact, as mentioned above, the introduced-version of HB 77 in the 2013 session did just that. No background check legislation will ever be “universal”, since criminals will simply ignore the law.

Because it’s an ineffective crime control proposal. In April of 2013, PoliceOne conducted a national survey of 15,000 active and retired law enforcement officers of all ranks and department sizes on the topics of gun & crime control. Nearly 80 percent said that a prohibition on private, non-dealer transfers of firearms between individuals would not reduce violent crime.

Because current laws are not being enforced. According to a 2012 report to the U.S. Department of Justice, more than 72,000 people were turned down on a gun purchase in 2010 because they didn’t clear a background check. Only 44 of those cases – or just .06 percent – were prosecuted. Existing laws are not even being enforced and proponents are calling for expanding background checks to cover private firearms transactions.

Silver Spur Trade Shows Inc – Email Notification

If you cannot attend this hearing, please contact members of the interim committee today and express your OPPOSITION to HB 77.

COURTS, CORRECTIONS AND JUSTICE INTERIM COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Rep. Gail Chasey, Co-Chair (D)
gail@gailchasey.com

Sen. Richard C. Martinez, Co-Chair (D)
richard.martinez@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Eliseo Lee Alcon (D)
eliseo.alcon@nmlegis.gov

Sen. Joseph Cervantes (D)
joseph@cervanteslawnm.com

Rep. Zachary J. Cook (R)
zachary.cook@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Yvette Herrell (R)
yherrell@yahoo.com

Rep. Emily Kane (D)
emilykane4nm@gmail.com

Sen. Linda M. Lopez (D)
linda.lopez@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Georgene Louis (D)
georgene.louis@nmlegis.gov

Sen. Cisco McSorley (D)
cisco.mcsorley@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Jane E. Powdrell-Culbert (R)
jpandp@comcast.net

Rep. William “Bill” R. Rehm (R)
bill.rehm@nmlegis.gov

Sen. Sander Rue (R)
sander.rue@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Mimi Stewart (D)
mimi.stewart@nmlegis.gov

Sen. Lisa A. Torraco (R)
lisa.torraco@nmlegis.gov

ADVISORY MEMBERS
Rep. Phillip M. Archuleta (D)
phillip.archuleta@nmlegis.gov

Sen. Craig W. Brandt (R)
craig.brandt@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Cathrynn N. Brown (R)
cath@cathrynnbrown.com

Sen. Jacob R. Candelaria (D)
jacob.candelaria@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Brian F. Egolf, Jr. (D)
brian.egolf@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Kelly K. Fajardo (R)
kelly.fajardo@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Miguel P. Garcia (D)
miguel.garcia@nmlegis.gov

Sen. Daniel A. Ivey-Soto (D)
daniel.ivey-soto@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Antonio “Moe” Maestas (D)
rep16@moejustice.com

Sen. Bill B. O’Neill (D)
oneillsd13@billoneillfornm.com

Rep. Paul A. Pacheco (R)
paul.pacheco@nmlegis.gov

Sen. William H. Payne (R)
william.payne@nmlegis.gov

Sen. John Pinto (D)
(505) 371-8342

Rep. Patricia Roybal Caballero (D)
pat.roybalcaballero@nmlegis.gov

Sen. Michael S. Sanchez (D)
(505) 986-4727

Rep. Sheryl Williams Stapleton (D)
sheryl.stapleton@nmlegis.gov

(Many thanks to fellow-blogger Kevin Post for alerting many of us as to what is going on!)

Your comments and criticism are welcomed and encouraged. Please keep it "G-rated."

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s